New York City Landmarks Conservancy Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards for 2023





Castle Clinton National Monument in Battery Park

Award winners were announced for the 33rd Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards for 2023. The Lucy G. Moses Awards are the Conservancy’s highest honors for outstanding preservation efforts, named for a dedicated New Yorker whose generosity benefited the City for more than 50 years.

This year the Conservancy honors Laurie Beckelman with the Public Leadership in Preservation Award, and John J. (Jack) Kerr, Jr. with the Preservation Leadership Award.

Pier 57, West 15th Street and the Hudson River. (Photo: Higgins Quasebarth & Partners, LLC)

This year, New York City Landmarks Preservation Conservancy awards the following Preservation Projects:

1065 Clay Avenue
131 Duane Street
69th Regiment Armory
Asia Art Archive in America
Castle Clinton National Monument
Church of Saint Mary the Virgin
The Church of St. Luke & St. Matthew
Lefferts Historic House, Prospect Park
New York State Pavilion
Pier 57
Roosevelt Island Lighthouse
St Luke’s Historic Pavilions

Roosevelt Island Lighthouse. (Photo: Thomas Fenniman)

Preservation Awards are given to projects that demonstrate excellence in the restoration, preservation, or adaptive use of historic buildings, streetscapes, and landscapes that preserve commercial, residential, institutional, religious, and public buildings.

131 Duane Street (Photo: Jonathan Schloss / Architect)

The Preservation Leadership Award is bestowed upon an outstanding individual in the field of historic preservation. Past honorees include Ruth Abram, Wint Aldrich, Kent Barwick, John Belle, John H. Beyer, Fred Bland, Simon Breines, Stephen Briganti, Giorgio Cavaglieri, Joan K. Davidson, Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, Andrew Dolkart, Franny Eberhart, Lola Finkelstein, Kenneth K. Fisher, Daniel Garodnick, Christopher Gray, James Marston Fitch, Margot Gayle, Anne Van Ingen, Judith Kaye, Helen M. Marshall, Joan Maynard, Nancy and Otis Pratt Pearsall, Ruth Pierpont, Adolf K. Placzek, Charles Platt, Jan Hird Pokorny, Henry Hope Reed, Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Vincent Scully, Barnett Shepherd, Robert Silman, and Anthony C. Wood.

St Luke’s Historic Pavilions, 30 Morningside Drive. (Photo: Alex Severin)

The Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards will be held on April 19, 2023 from 6:00 ~ 9:00pm at St. Bartholomew’s Church, 325 Park Avenue between 50th and 51st Streets, NYC. Purchase Tickets Here

Look back at the 2022 Lucy G. Moses award winners.