New York Landmarks Conservancy Announces The 2022 Lucy G. Moses Award Winners



Power Station at Berklee NYC NYC, Manhattan

The award winners were announced for the 32nd Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards for 2022. The Moses Awards are the Conservancy’s highest honor for outstanding preservation.

This year the Conservancy honors Yuien Chin (Director, Harlem One Stop, Alex Herrera, and the Prospect Park Alliance. Preservation Project Awards are bestowed the the fourteen listed below.

The New York Landmarks Conservancy has been a leader in preserving, restoring, and reusing New York City’s architectural legacy for nearly 50 years.

1 West 123rd Street, Harlem – photo by Jonathan Wallen


74 Grand Street, Manhattan. Image courtesy New York Landmarks


287 Broadway ~ Credit DD Reps.

The Moses Awards are the Conservancy’s highest honors for outstanding preservation work. Named in honor of dedicated New Yorker Lucy G. Moses, the annual Awards have recognized hundreds of leaders, architects, craftspeople, and building owners for their extraordinary contributions in preserving our City.

Farley Building Postal -Lobby Rotunda Ceiling, Manhattan


Gage & Tollner, Brooklyn


Helmsley Building, Manhattan

Preservation Awards are given to projects that demonstrate excellence in the restoration, preservation, or adaptive use of historic buildings, streetscapes, and landscapes that preserve commercial, residential, institutional, religious, and public buildings.

Empire State Building Mooring Mast – Photo by Julie Foster


Highbridge Water Tower & Step-Street (Manhattan & Bronx) – photo by D. Avila


Highbridge Step Street after – looking west

The Preservation Leadership Award is bestowed upon an outstanding individual in the field of historic preservation. Past honorees include Ruth Abram, Wint Aldrich, Kent Barwick, John Belle, John H. Beyer, Fred Bland, Simon Breines, Stephen Briganti, Giorgio Cavaglieri, Joan K. Davidson, Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, Andrew Dolkart, Franny Eberhart, Lola Finkelstein, Kenneth K. Fisher, Daniel Garodnick, Christopher Gray, James Marston Fitch, Margot Gayle, Anne Van Ingen, Judith Kaye, Helen M. Marshall, Joan Maynard, Nancy and Otis Pratt Pearsall, Ruth Pierpont, Adolf K. Placzek, Charles Platt, Jan Hird Pokorny, Henry Hope Reed, Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Vincent Scully, Barnett Shepherd, Robert Silman, and Anthony C. Wood.

Noonan Plaza Apartments, Bronx


One Wall Street, Manhattan


T Building – Jamaica, Queens

The 32nd Annual Lucy G. Moses Awards will take place on April 20, 2022 from 6:00 – 9:00 pm at The Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine, 1047 Amsterdam Avenue, NYC. The Cathedral required all visitors to be fully vaccinated before entry.

View to Trinity Church and the south chuchyard from 71 Broadway
Preservation Project Awards
1 West 123rd Street
74 Grand Street
287 Broadway
Astoria Park Pool and Play Center
Empire State Building Mooring Mast
Farley Building Postal Lobby
Gage & Tollner
Helmsley Building
Highbridge Water Tower & Step-Street
Noonan Plaza Apartments
One Wall Street
Power Station at Berklee NYC
T Building
Trinity Church Wall Street

Register for the event on April 20th, purchase a program ad, or make a contribution to support preservation. Check-in 6:00pm; Ceremony starts at 6:30pm with Reception to follow.